Blog / Photography / Travel

Sablayan

Photos by MAJAL TABORA

Sunset orange. Photo by MAJAL TABORA.

Sunset orange. Photo by MAJAL TABORA.

I’ve been missing home a lot lately, and it didn’t help that Biyahe ni Drew, a travel show in GMA News TV 11 showed me last night what I’ve been missing.

Not that I needed a television show to remind me how breathtaking my hometown is. I carry its colors with me: the blue of the sea that blends with the blue of the sky, so seamless that you could no longer tell where the waters end and the heavens begin; the brown and gray of the earth that gives life to abundant green; the bloom of  yellow and violet and red; the orange of twilight as the sun dips swiftly into the ocean.

I carry its song with me: the lapping of the waves when they tease the shores on sunny days, gently, playfully. The howling of the winds during a storm, when the sea rages on, scary, powerful, violent.

I carry its contradictions with me: joy, pain, hope, struggle, victory, defeat.

But most of all, I carry its love. I may not be there now, but Sablayan is home, and one day, or maybe tomorrow, this sojourner is coming home.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Read On the road with ‘Biyahe ni Drew:’ Sablayan, Occidental Mindoro

See the Photo Essay: ‘Biyahe Ni Drew’ in Sablayan, Occidental Mindoro

Leave a Reply

