Books

The Witches novels by Terry Pratchett

I have been meaning to write about this but I’ve never gotten around to doing it, until now.

A few months ago, I have finished reading all of Sir Terry Pratchett‘s Witches novels.  There are 10 in all so far, including the three Tiffany Aching series.

I loved every single one of them. And I have never laughed so hard reading as when I’m reading Pratchett. He has found my funny bone. I just get him. Or he gets me.

The Witches novels are part of a bigger series called the Discworld. The Discworld — according to The Colour of Magic, the first book in the 39-book series — is “a flat disc balanced on the backs of four elephants which, in turn, stand on the back of a giant turtle, Great A’Tuin.”

I came to know about the Discworld by accident.  A London-based cousin got Thud from a colleague for his birthday and I got to reading it while waiting for someone at their house.  Thud is a murder mystery but the characters are dwarfs, elves, trolls, vampires, and others. I couldn’t put it down. After that, I scoured the net for copies, because I couldn’t find them in bookstores. But now, National Bookstore and Fully Booked have them.

When I got to Equal Rites, number three in the series, I decided to follow the reading order found here:  http://www.lspace.org/books/reading-order-guides/the-discworld-reading-order-guide-20.jpg 

But sometimes I’d cheat and throw in some Watch novels and some Industrial Revolution novels here and there.  The most enjoyable I’ve read so far, outside the Witches novels, is Going Postal.

Now, I’m rereading Guards! Guards! so I can finish all the Watch novels.

Here’s something about Discworld, from Wikipedia, in case you’re not yet curious enough:

“The books frequently parody, or at least take inspiration from J. R. R. Tolkien, Robert E. Howard, H. P. Lovecraft and William Shakespeare, as well as mythology, folklore and fairy tales, often using them for satirical parallels with current cultural, political and scientific issues.”

And here’s something from me: Discworld predates Harry Potter but you will find lots of common elements between the two, which begs the question, was J.K. Rowling a fan of Sir Terry Pratchett?

When you read the novels, spotting the similarities could be your sidebar. It certainly is mine.

Leave a Reply

